Skip to content

Made in China

The problem with the world today is that everything is made in China.

It’s a damned sad commentary but it seems to me that the only things made in America nowadays are celebrity dimwits, methamphetamines and bastard children. And while they may be cheap and plentiful, none of them form the foundation of a particularly healthy economy.

It used to be that an old man could saunter into the local dry goods store, buy himself some butch wax, shredded wheat and a gallon of DDT and leave confident in the knowledge that each one was a quality item manufactured in the good old US of A.

These days, though, it seems that every damned product under the sun is made in the People’s Republic of China. From doodads and knickknacks to American flags and baseballs – you name it and I’ll bet you dollars to dim sum that it’s been shunted together with glue sticks and elastic bands in some insidious factory by a faceless army of Mao’s minions.

It’s dangerous game and mark my words if we don’t stop it soon it’s only a matter of time until our economy’s collapsed entirely and we’re buying our apple pie from the Commie Crust Co. of Guangdong Province and trading in our bibles for little red books, shark fin soup, unisex haircuts and ill-fitting Zhongshan suits.

Part of the damned problem is that Americans don’t want to work in manufacturing anymore – that’s not “groovy” enough for them. Our young people all want to wear thick spectacles, skinny jeans, work at Facebook and be part of the “knowledge-based economy.” Well that’s just fine and dandy but what they fail to teach you at Hipster U is that it’s hard to keep your GDP propped up if the only thing a country is producing is social media networks, cash crops on Farmville and narcissistic metrosexuals.

The real damned shame is that even those who are willing to get their fingernails dirty and take a job in manufacturing don’t have a chance anymore because Americans are only prepared to buy cheap, disposable products made by a cheap, disposable workforce. Apparently, no one objects to exploiting foreign labor as long as it means they can accumulate a mountain of unnecessary crap and still have enough pocket money left over to purchase a “Free Tibet” t-shirt or make a small donation to Amnesty International.

It’s time for this country to come to its senses, roll up its sleeves and return to the assembly lines that made us great. We need to start building in – and buying from – America.

Everything is made in China. That’s the problem with the world today.

84 Comments leave one →
  1. 7:04 pm

    You’re Back!!! Hooray!

    You forgot that one of the main sources of employment here is in fast food. . .many of the ingredients for which are “manufactured” outside the US.

    It is absolutely shocking how hard it is to find things that are actually made in the USA. Not only do we as potential employees need to be willing to get dirty and work hard, as consumers we need to stop buying cheap crap from China.

    I am minded of the “Take My Job” initiative that was started by the migrant workers in the farming industry encouraging Americans to come and do the work in the fields and abattoirs of this nation. The result was something like 8 people stepped up and none of them could stand the work for more than a week. (I’m making up my numbers, but it was an abysmal result.)

    • 7:21 pm

      Many thanks healingmagichands.

      I wouldn’t worry about the accuracy of your estimates; eight people stepping up sounds about right. I’m not sure so about them lasting a week though – based on my experience most folks wouldn’t last more than about 2 hours in an abattoir. It’s hard to sip a damned latte, surf the internet and update your Facebook status when you’re ankle deep in intestines.

      I hope you’re well healingmagichands. Very nice to have you stop in.

      All the best,

      Don

  2. 7:17 pm

    You are back! Funny, just last night I was looking at your Facebook and wondering if I ever see another post from you.

    I am sure people would be willing to get their hands dirty and work manufacturing jobs if they were available. Recently I have been looking for a job and all that is available are data entry and telemarketing jobs.

    • 7:33 pm

      Thank you Latin Cracker.

      I took a small break to recharge my batteries and write several people out of my will.

      You may be right but most of the young people I run into it (my brakes have been acting up again) don’t seem the slightest bit interested in getting their hands dirty or taking on any form of work that doesn’t involve skinny ties and fat paycheques. Hopefully, in time, they’ll prove me wrong.

      Good luck with your job search. I’m sure that with a little effort you’ll find something you’re well suited to and also to your liking.

      Best regards,

  3. 7:17 pm

    Don, you’re back!!! Huzzah!!!

    I would live to by American and/or Canadian. It’s just so damned hard to find stuff that isnt’ made in China, and it’s all crap.

    I borrowed my Crappy (Canadian) Tire pruning clippers form my neighbor. I swear to God, the metal actually BENT before slicing through a tree branch.

    If they can’t even make a decent garden rake or DOG FOOD, how the hell are we supposed to trust their automobiles and nuclear reactors, for Chrissakes?

    I bought a r

    • 7:47 pm

      Many thanks Friar,

      It’s damned near impossible to find anything made in North America anymore. Old Harvey Firestone must be spinning in his grave.

      I’ve had the same problem finding a decent pair of clippers. Seems like I go through a new pair every year and I’m just trimming a mock orange and a couple of weigela – it’s not like I’m trying to take limbs off an oak tree. They either bend (as you point out) or just seem to fall apart in your hands. It’s infuriating as hell.

      All the best, Friar, and thanks for visiting. Great to hear from you.

      Don

      p.s. Judging by your final like it looks like you may have gotten your hands on one of those Dollar Store, made in China keyboards. I’d suggest you take it into the shop for repairs but as with everything today the first time a product starts to act up your only course of action is to toss it in the landfill and buy another one.

  4. 7:43 pm

    Yay! You’re back! I’m sure the relatives you wrote out of your will sorely deserved it.

    I’ve wondered for a long time how America can maintain its economy without producing any product. Pretty weird. My husband will put retirement money in stocks, and I’ll say, “What does the company make?” and he’ll have no clue. It’s okay. I’ve got a nice stash under the mattress.

    • 10:26 pm

      Thank you Robin,

      I’m not sure whether they deserved it or not – I just like to mix things up periodically to keep them on their toes (and on their best behavior).

      I’m delighted to hear you’re a patron of the First National Bank of Sealy Posturepedic. I’ve been a loyal customer for 40 years and while the interest isn’t great I’ve never had to bail them out once.

      All the best,

      Don

  5. 8:00 pm

    Good to read your blog again! Thank you for being back and widening your topic to the entire world. There should be lots of issues to cover.

    • 10:27 pm

      Many thanks My Sharp Tongue.

      I’m guessing there should be no shortage of affronts to address.

      Best regards,

      Don

  6. Catherine permalink
    8:08 pm

    Yay! You are back! Spitting bile with your usual accuracy. It’s wonderful to have you back Donald.

    • 10:27 pm

      Many thanks for the kind words Catherine.

      Nice of you to visit with me.

      All the best,

      Don

  7. elizabeth3hersh permalink
    8:29 pm

    Don – First off, I’m so glad you’re back. What a great way to start the new year! You have touched on a topic near and dear to my heart. I could wax nostalgic all afternoon on this subject. Americana (American made Americana): chrome, grooved aluminum dinette tables with flame vinyl cushions and Formica tops, silver orbital wall clocks, checked black-and-white floors, painted fruit crates, a color palette of turquoise, pink, lemon yellow and robin’s egg blue, tobacco barns, enameled anything and chrome, chrome and more chrome. None of it made in the good ole’ Republic of China. Why just this morning I zoomed in on an advertisement in today’s Las Vegas Review-Journal: (Chinese made) magnetic slimming panties. NO SURGERY! NO STRENUOUS DIETING! Offered were panties embedded with hundreds of “powerful healing magnets” guaranteed to “boost metabolism, improve circulation and relieve body aches and pains” IN ADDITION to “eliminating unsightly bulges.” Okay, they didn’t really offer a guarantee, but they did promise a “shapelier derriere” and God knows, we could certainly use that in this age of expanding girth. What I suggest is the crafting of a Don Mills wallet embedded with hundreds of” “powerful saving magnets guaranteed to boost savings, conserve capital and promote reserves.” Unfortunately, it would do nothing to eliminate unsightly bulges. Made in America of course (or anywhere but China).

    • 1:19 pm

      Very nice to hear from you Elizabeth.

      It likely goes without saying that I share your appreciation for fine American-made products. Every morning I have my shredded wheat and raisin toast on a very decent arborite and chrome drop leaf kitchen table that my wife Aggie bought 40 plus years ago. I also have an old barber’s chair out in the garage that I’m quite fond of. Sadly, it seems nowadays that in addition to being disposable, products don’t have any style or substance to them either.

      I have to say that I find this notion of magnetic underpants quite disturbing. In my day the only thing you stitched into your drawers was a tag with your name written on it. If people really want to boost their metabolism and improve vigor they should get themselves a medicine ball, a chest expander, drink some prune juice and do some deep knee bends.

      (Still, I have to admit it might be amusing to see someone walking around with a handful of paperclips stuck to the ass of their damned pants.)

      All the best, Elizabeth, and many thanks for visiting. I’ll keep that wallet idea in mind if I ever decide to get into the snake oil business. The old man at Donco is always looking for new ways to supplement his pension.

      Don

    • Sedate Me permalink
      10:00 pm

      Speaking of “shapely derrieres”, I have half a mind to spank yours Elizabeth (Although, I’d be willing to let you substitute the posterior of whichever under-disciplined daughter you deem most deserving of the honour) for not letting me know that Mr Mills was back up and running, or at least the closest proximity to running that he can manage.

      Welcome back, Mr Mills! You can expect me to be prattling on in interminable lengths about how right you are in no time.

      • elizabeth3hersh permalink
        1:24 am

        I can always trust you to speak for me, SedateMe.

        P.S. You owe me a spanking…I’m looking forward to it.:-) Don can watch.

        • Sedate Me permalink
          2:41 pm

          Hey, you’re not supposed to enjoy it!

          But a debt is a debt and I repay my debts. So, I guess I owe you one.

      • 5:19 pm

        Many thanks Sedate Me.

        I look forward to your prattling – it never fails to inform and entertain.

        All the best

        Don

  8. 9:18 pm

    While I always love to read your assessments of what’s wrong with a situation, I feel it’s time to take things to a new level. How about some videos? Or at least an audio clip? I think it would be pretty awesome to hear you talk about the Commie Crust Co. of Guangdong Province.

    In fact, I may recommend to my son that he use some of your pieces for a dramatic interpretation event in speech and debate. Or perhaps he should enter in humorous interpretation instead. 😀

    • 1:30 pm

      Thank you kindly Fantastic Forrest,

      Not only have I been told that I have a face perfect for radio, I’ve also been advised I have a voice well suited to silent movies. My wife, Aggie, used to say that I was never more attractive then when I was sitting silently in a darkened room.

      Still, I have to admit that broadcasting by videotape is something I’ve been considering for a while. Unfortunately, when I put an add up at the Piggly Wiggly looking for “a creative partner interested in making short movies with an old man” the only responses I received were quite rude and entirely inappropriate.

      Glad to hear your son has an interest in debate. Nothing keeps the mind sharper than a little verbal jousting with your peers.

      All the best, Fantastic Forrest, and many thanks for stopping in.

      Best regards,

      Don

  9. 9:19 pm

    Well said and well written.

    Unfortunately it’s exactly the same scenario in every Western country nowadays.

    Here in the UK even our toothpaste is made in China!

    Someone needs to say enough is enough before our little friends in the East have us totally reliant on them and start to turn the screw. They are already trying to buy up companies in the UK and elsewhere (especially oil and mineral ones).

    Glen

    • 1:46 pm

      Many thanks Glen,

      I think we may be too damned late but truth be told I don’t fault the Chinese. They’re just taking advantage of our damned laziness and lack of foresight. I agree, though, that the time has come for someone to step up, say “enough is enough.”

      Many thanks for visiting.

      All the best,

      Don

  10. 9:48 pm

    Public Service Notice:

    This rant was not written by Don Mills. He went off the to the retirement home months ago. The writing of this blog post had been outsourced to China.

    • 1:58 pm

      Thank you Bearman,

      Not entirely true. While I get some of the text from China and Taiwan, the posts themselves are actually assembled in South Korea. They contain a few more typos than I might like and there are some translation issues (e.g., I’m not sure how butch wax ended up in this post when I had clearly meant for it to be a rather off-color joke about a female golfer) but you can’t beat the price.

      All the best, Bearman.

      Don

  11. 9:48 pm

    Ha ha. Sad but true. I get excited when I see something that says “Made in America.” It’s so rare now.

  12. 10:34 pm

    Don!
    I’m just so overcome with emotion that you are writing again. I’m as excited as a 9month pregnent redneck bride at her shotgun wedding! I’m so awashed in joy that I have blanked out on my comment on the post. I’ll go get myself together and come back in a bit.

    • 3:20 pm

      Thank you Trailerparkbarbie,

      I’ve often wondered…what kind of gift do you bring to a 9-month pregnant red-neck bride shotgun wedding? I don’t get invited to as many as I used to but it’s always good to be prepared.

      All the best, TPB. Wonderful to hear from you.

      Don

  13. 11:10 pm

    So glad to see you back, Don. Your knowledge is invaluable to so many. I think that the real problems will begin when everything’s being made by god damned teenagers in China. I’ll make my own potholders on a weaving loom before I see that happen.

    I’d actually thought you founded Hipster U, until I read this. You’re the grooviest.

    • 3:47 pm

      Thank you kindly Moonbeam,

      That’s a frightening point you make and one that I hadn’t really considered. Some days I think it might just be best for me to lock myself in the basement with my wee dog, a case of chipped beef, some back issues of Reader’s Digest and enough bottled water to see me through to the end. The world’s a damned scary place.

      I have to say I don’t think I’ve ever been referred to as “groovy” before (although it’s not entirely unwarranted given the state of my wrinkled skin) but can assure you that I never founded, attended or in anyway supported Hipster U. Not only do I disapprove of their curriculum but from what Clifton Tanager tells me they have a damned lousy football team too.

      All the best and thanks for visiting with me.

      Don

  14. 12:10 am

    God Bless ya Don. Ive passed this on to my hipster brother in the hopes that he will gleen something from it.

    • 4:06 pm

      Many thanks VinylVillager,

      Good luck with your hipster brother. I wonder if he knows my sibling, York? He alternates between hipster, wannabe swinger and part-time Casanova. He’s a decent enough lad but he gives us old folks a bad name.

      Best regards,

      Don

  15. 1:06 am

    Everybodies talking about your back. Don’t any of them care about your front? It’s not like us old folk run around parading our front, but it would be nice if people would recognize we had one in the first place.

    And them damn Chinese know how to sell their crap to us. We buy one little thing from them; an hour later we want another one. Damn conspiracy is all I’m saying.

    • 4:19 pm

      Nice to hear from you Jammer.

      My brother, York, ran into some legal issues a few years back as a result of running around parading his front. Amazing the amount of emotional trauma one renegade senior can cause. Some of the folks are still in therapy.

      Fortunately, we were able to hush matters up and keep the incident out of the local paper.

      I hope you’re keeping well, lad.

      Best regards,

      Don

  16. 1:06 am

    Mr Mills

    I knew you would be back….a young know it all whippsnapper wet behind the ears blogger like myself needs guidance and how to handle the elderly…i knew you would come back when needed YOUR LIKE BATMAN….gonna call you ……SuperDon…protector of the elderly.. your costume is redtights with a big G on your chest..thats where you keep your stash of geritol…welcome kind sir…zman sends and awaits your guidance with patience….zman sends

    • 5:27 pm

      Many thanks Zman,

      Always a pleasure to hear from you, lad. Thanks for the kind words but if you ever see darting through the streets in a cape and pair of red tights please do me the service of running me down with your automobile. I think all of humanity would owe you a debt of gratitude.

      Hope you’re well, Zman. Thanks for visiting.

      Don

      p.s. Nice thought on the Geritol pouch, though. I may just look into that.

  17. 4:15 am

    I got the email saying that you had a new post and got so excited that you’re back! Young people don’t feel like working…I am a 24 year old student working on my master’s degree and working full-time at a lab. Yet I see people older than I am working part-time and still can not make it to work on time!

    I think you should take one for the team and run for President.🙂 I’d vote for you. We do, after all, need someone to straighten up America and it’s young people.

    • 5:31 pm

      Thank you for the kind words, Anastasia.

      Glad to hear that you’re a decent, hard-working young person. Most folks your age couldn’t handle full-time learning or a full-time job – let alone both at the same time. Good luck with your studies.

      As far as politics go, I had my fill years ago. I’ve been around politicians and bureaucrats long enough to know that I want nothing more to do with either of them.

      All the best,

      Don

  18. 4:47 am

    Americans just love to adopt Chinese babies. I suspect those little newborns might even come with Made in China tags tucked under their arms.

    • 5:56 pm

      Thanks Marissa.

      Maybe we could start trading instead of adopting. There are a few little American-made monsters on my block that I’d be happy to see raised overseas.

      Best regards,

      Don

  19. Fairy Face permalink
    8:51 am

    Not only in America Don. Everything in Oz is made in China too . I think we only make boomerangs now. Well we really don’t, the Aboriginals do. Most of our ‘Australian T Shirts’ are made in China and might I add some are a much better quality than those made here. You could spit through some of the clothing made in Oz but the Asian’s produce better than we do so do you buy the inferior product just because it’s Australian made ? Sadly this doesn’t just apply to clothing.
    Anywho Donald good to see you back, and firing on all pistons.

    • 5:57 pm

      Thank you Fairy Face,

      I may have to look into getting me one of those boomerangs. It would be nice to sit on porch and take pot shots at the damned young people on my lawn without having to worry about retrieving my projectile.

      All the best,

      Don

      • Fairy Face permalink
        11:11 am

        Only you could come up with something like that, lol. You make my day you really do.

  20. 1:04 pm

    Welcome back, Don. I knew you wouldn’t be able to stay away for long, what with there being still so much wrong with today’s youth/the world in general/breakfast cereal selections.

    I know firsthand from my time in Korea what a bane to existence foreign-made items could be. The only items from the USA we had available were whatever made it to us intact in care packages. This usually consisted of cookies, back issues of Life Magazine and slightly racy romance novels still packed in the “Free” box they originally came in at the local rummage sale.

    South Korean goods were usually too expensive and lord knows the North Koreans weren’t really in the habit of making consumer items. Everything we picked up at the local bodegas usually bore a misspelled “Made on China” sticker and was slightly inferior to the products that the Koreans traded among themselves.

    These items usually had a shelf life of 8 hours and a lifetime ranging from 15 minutes to 1 week. As if that wasn’t enough, a fine film of lead dust coated everything, especially the replacement silverware and plastic tumblers.

    Anything else readily available was “Made in Russia” and was usually hurling deadly projectiles at us. Our own weapons bore that cherished “Made in USA” logo, along with an embossed American flag that gave up something to admire while trying to free jammed ammunition. A lot of pride went into the manufacture of those guns, almost all of it contained within the 1/2-inch square of Old Glory.

    Today the Chinese seem to be better at making quality electronics and silverware, having extended equipment lifetime to just slightly over the warranty period and reducing silverware-related lead poisioning to 20 cases per 100,000. All in all, I’m willing to take my chances at such steep discounts. The money saved helps defray co-pay costs.

    Once again, welcome back, Don.

    Sincerely,
    Clifton L. Tanager

    • 7:41 pm

      Many thanks Clifton,

      I would have thought that after all your years at the Templeton Box and Glove company you’d be a staunch advocate of purchasing American-made products (or, at minimum, a staunch advocate of purchasing American-made boxes and/or gloves.) I can understand, however, that the circumstances surrounding your dismissal may have caused you to question your loyalty to American manufacturing. It was probably a factor in that stapler-phobia you’ve developed too.

      Nevertheless, wonderful to hear from you Clifton. I think I missed your comments and commentary more than I missed the damned blog itself.

      All the best,

      Don

  21. 2:21 pm

    You’re baaaaaaaack!!!!!!!!!

    I knew you couldn’t stay away forever. Oh, but how we’ve missed you!

  22. 6:56 pm

    Yipee! You’re back. I’m so glad that I did not delete you from my blog roll. Somehow I’d knew you’d be back. Post often!

    • 7:44 pm

      Thank you raquel,

      You’re very kind and I appreciate your taking the time to leave me a note.
      All the best

      Don

  23. 8:39 pm

    GREAT to have you back Mr. Mills.

  24. 10:10 pm

    You could just as well have been talking about the situation here in the UK , Don . . .

    http://tinyurl.com/6xfaosd

    Jeez, I bet even now China is busy churning out souvenir mugs and tea-towels to mark the wedding of Prince William to that young floosie🙄

    P.S. Good to see you putting quill to parchment once more !!!

    • 11:08 pm

      Many thanks Duncan.

      An interesting article. And more than a little embarrassing for everyone involved I’m sure. Still, I’m not sure what people expect – they want the knicknacks but they also want them to pay 50 cents for them (feel free to translate that into pence, half-pennys, bawbees, doyts or whatever it is you folks are using as currency these days). If they were made in the U.K. and people were paid a living wage to make them they might cost upward of a dollar. Can’t have that.

      Nice to hear from you, Duncan. I do hope you’re keeping well and enjoying your small army of pups.

      Best regards,

      Don

  25. 11:33 pm

    I have been adrift upon a wayward sail since you abandoned me. It feels good to be on course again (I think I was destined to dock in China). So glad you’re back.

    If you want to buy American you won’t find it at Walmart. Most everything, if not everything, is made in China.

    • 11:15 pm

      Thanks Tricia,

      I appreciate the kind words. I don’t shop at Walmart anymore – it’s too damned depressing seeing all of the seniors working there in those god-awful blue smocks. They deserve better than having to spend their retirement years “greeting” damned sullen young people looking for a foreign-made bargain.

      All the best.

      Don

      p.s. those fridge magnets I sent you were proudly made in America! However, I am considering a recall due to some toxic ink concerns. I’ll get back to you with details if needed but in the meantime keep them out of direct sunlight and at try not to breathe too deeply in you’re within 10 feet of them.

      • 11:36 pm

        Now I see the connection between your handling of the fridge magnets and your long absence afterwards. I also see my own connection. Sometimes I don’t finish a sente…

  26. 11:58 pm

    Count me just as excited as everyone else to have you back Don. I hope you hang around for a while longer this time.
    Totally agree with you about ‘Made in China’. Not long ago I heard mention of Wally World as “Your source for cheap plastic sh**.” I’m no saint; I shop there when I need some disposable geegaw.
    And speaking of disposable, almost everything is that way now. That bothers me worse than outsourcing. Its cheaper to buy a new (insert item) than to bother having it fixed, even if it is possible to have it repaired.
    Thanks for yet another a great post.

    • 11:21 pm

      Thank you Hal.

      I couldn’t agree more about the disposable aspect of everything we buy these days. It’s infuriating and damned wasteful too. It really shouldn’t be too much to ask to pay a fair price for a decent product that is built to last and can be easily fixed if a widget cracks or a fuse pops.

      Drives me damned nuts.

      Good to hear from you. My thanks for stopping in.

      All the best,

      Don

  27. 8:53 am

    don!!!! you’re back! 😀 (i had to settle for a smiling emoticon, because i don’t have a dancing one). now all is right with the world. i wouldn’t trade reading your words of wisdom for all the tea in china. 😉

    p.s. it’s all the american flags with the made in china tags that cut the deepest.

    • 11:29 pm

      Nonnie!

      Wonderful to hear from you. I seem to recall years ago reading that over 25% of all American Flags were made in China. I can only imagine the number has increased since then. No wonder the last one I bought had 53 stars and what appeared to be a small panda.

      All the best, Nonnie.

      Don

  28. paper doll permalink
    6:41 pm

    Don, usually I agree with you…but people would LOVE to have manufacturing jobs here …at least the young and old I know. But the suits in charge , the bonus class, are chasing the “2 billion” customers in China and the whole of USA is now in the fix Flint, MI.

    We aren’t being hired and even worse for our candy asses, they no longer give a hoot if we buy…that was our # 1 ace card. So the problem is not just that everything is made in China…that has been true for years…it’s also that increasingly the suits expect it to be bought in China as well…so why would they hire us at all ?

    However the suits might have a surprise coming. Because there aren’t 2 billion customers in China at all. Like here, most Chinese are being left behind in the ” China Miracle” , and I believe in time they won’t suffer it quitely ….and then US sellout CEO suits will be in trouble….cry me a river

    • 1:57 pm

      Many thanks paperdoll,

      An interesting perspective and I appreciate your sharing it with me. I hadn’t really considered the issue from that angle. I have to admit, though, that I think the “suits” would have no choice but to sit up and take notice if folks here made it clear that they wanted to purchase domestically manufactured items.

      All the best paperdoll and thanks very much for stopping in.

      Don

  29. 7:00 pm

    Damned civilised of you sir, to take a break and allow us slightly eccentric millinery manufacturers to pull ahead in the Hits Handicap.

    I fear however, that your wondrous wit and unparalleled popularity will soon see you leaving us standing in a cloud of dust at the side of the road.

    Nonetheless, you can consider yourself well and truly welcomed back…..

    http://madhatters.me.uk/2011/01/18/crabby-old-fart-on-china/

    • 1:57 pm

      Thank you kindly Nobbly,

      Good to hear from you lad. I appreciate the vote of confidence but I never underestimate the drawing power of millinery manufacturers – especially slightly eccentric ones. Speaking of which, I’m in the market for a new tam. Can you lads help me out?

      All the best,

      Don

  30. 8:16 pm

    Why the heck are you not running to be our president? No offense to Ahmnodt if he sees this.

    • 2:04 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Mel.

      While putting wrinkly old white men in the oval office is a fine American tradition, I have no interest in politics. I would however, be prepared to provide some policy advice to young Ahmnodt – his stand on seniors’ issues is damned troubling.

      All the best and thanks for stopping in.

      Don

  31. 8:48 pm

    Just saw a news clip on TV about how souvenier shops in DC were looking forwarad to some good business when the huge Chinese delegation his town for the White House meeting. But they have a problem, their inventory is all ‘made in China’.

    I think that qualifies as irony.

    • 2:07 pm

      Thank you Moe.

      Ha. Yes, I would say that most definitely qualifies as irony.

      All the best,

      Don

  32. 8:48 pm

    That would be ‘hits town.’

  33. Wayne permalink
    12:38 am

    I’m Wayne,
    When I finlly get out of highchool I’m gonna be an air conditionar. My buddy Rod lives in China and he’s white. And he teaches thare and makes Chinese money, so it’s not like you say at all. I dont think you no much off anything actuly. My food is made in America, right? Same with video games and our guverment is made here to. And the guy who works at the dry cleaner down my road is Chinese or Japsanese, so that makes me his boss. If I ever go to the dry cleaner. Think about it!!! You shuld just shut up. And don’t say bad things about Farmville. Its cool. Farmers come from america. Oh, and the car was invented by the USA to. Moron.

    • 2:23 pm

      Greetings young Wayne and thanks for stopping in.

      When I was in high school I briefly considered becoming a Hotpoint Electric Stove. I was rather crushed when my teacher, Mrs. Dunlop, pointed out that I didn’t have the aptitude or the ability to grill a cheese sandwich with only my hands and the power of positive thinking.

      Hold onto your dream, son. While I’m not sure that graduating high school may be in the cards, I’m optimistic that with a little hard work and the proper condenser tubes you can be regulating room temperatures in no time. And if that doesn’t work out, I’m almost positive you could become a dishwasher.

      It’s good to hear from you Wayne. Try to stay in touch, I suspect you have many valuable insights to share.

      All the best and good luck with your studies.

      Best regards,

      Don

      • Sedate Me permalink
        2:40 pm

        Now that’s the kind of mockery I missed.

  34. 9:31 pm

    You’re on live now!

    I’ve had your site sitting on my blogroll and I check in once in awhile to peruse the archives and get a good laugh.

    I felt like I had missed out on all the fun since I found you during your “break”. You sound like a modern-day rapper who goes into “retirement” only make a big comeback a few months later.

    Are you learning from the young people now?

  35. Dr Tim permalink
    10:25 am

    Good to see you back Don.

  36. 5:12 pm

    So hilarious! I don’t know how I found you, but I think I’m in love.😉

  37. Karolina permalink
    4:06 pm

    I am besides myself, dancing with joy!
    Here I go trying to go back in history to get the pearls of Donyism wisdom, and here you are! Back in flesh to keep those young people in check!

  38. 9:06 pm

    Good to see you’re back and hitting the nail on the head. I’ve missed your wisdom in recent months, but today I can go out in the world knowing China is the problem! Rock on!

  39. Sedate Me permalink
    3:20 pm

    China is a self-inflicted gunshot wound to the head.

    Our corporations saw the chance to screw over their employees, exploit a cheap labour force somewhere else, make bigger profits and “earn” even bigger bonuses. They told their government lackeys to “Make it so!” and they did. Soon, North America was awash in cheap, disposable, shit made by cheap, disposable, people.

    And what did we do? Did we realize this would put our lifestyle on the scrapheap and try to stop it? HELL NO! We celebrated the arrival of slightly cheaper products by driving our SUVs (bought on credit) to China Mart, loading them full of Chinese products (bought on credit) and putting them in the garage (bought with sub-prime mortgages). Half of the stuff never left the garage and the other half broke within the first month, at which point we zoomed back to China Mart with a smile on our face.

    “Look at all the money we’re saving by buying products we didn’t have to pay North Americans living wages to make !”

    We were so blinded for our desire for cheaper shit, we not only didn’t mind the big drop in quality, we didn’t mind the fact that we were un-employing ourselves and ringing up debts we couldn’t possibly pay back.

  40. rock permalink
    3:11 am

    Fire will give the Chinese product in the case of television; explode, and risk death

  41. Hiroki permalink
    2:01 pm

    Your this site (blog) is used another site. Do you know it and agree? The site name is “searchina”.
    http://info.searchina.ne.jp/5/

    http://news.searchina.ne.jp/disp.cgi?y=2011&d=0210&f=national_0210_051.shtml

    I want to know that you agree it or not.

  42. dawnwinn permalink
    10:54 pm

    Don, I have to agree with you about Americans not wanting to pay a price for anything that isn’t cheap junk! I do machine embroidery, and make things by hand, as well, leather bags, clothes, etc…and there is a very hard road to travel here if you do that. Without a global market at your fingertips, and a bit of knowledge about the internet, you might as well be spitting out crayon drawings instead of a custom made item worth it’s price! Most Americans just don’t want it- they look, say how beautiful, and go to the junky trash stuff instead. It’s dismal, especially when I spent my life in the work force actually cleaning up, and caring for disabled adults, and then I developed degenerative joint disease also. I am raising my 13 year old autistic daughter, homeschooling her because the schools have gone wonky, and my 25 year old daughter agrees with me on all of this! (SHE’S a SMART damn young person!)
    I have to say, I have immensely enjoyed reading your blog posts! I will keep reading! Thank you for saying it how it is!

  43. 7:28 pm

    good work don

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Made in China « The Problem with Young People Today Is… -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

